London / Restaurant Reviews

Boqueria, Brixton

Boqueria Brixton is a tiny twinkly tapas bar half way between Brixton and Clapham Common. It serves a selection of tapas dishes, wines and sherrys inspired by Barcelona’s iconic food market, Boqueria and bills itself as ‘London’s most exciting Tapas bar’. I wouldn’t call it that with Jose on the loose, but it’s filling a gap for a tasty, smart-ish local place to go for a date night in Brixton winning points for being indoors (unlike a lot of my favourite places in Brixton Market), slick and beautifully designed.Jamon I was a guest at Boqueria and so me and my friend were in the hands of the waiter who swiftly bought over a bottle of Rioja and two copies of the extensive menu. After a few minutes of soaking up the buzz and saying hello to our neighbours (A Lady in London and Gavin McGowan Madoo, who’d also been sent to review the bar) a plate of Jamon Iberico turned up. It wasn’t the best I’ve had but a good start to the tapas tour which continued with more classic dishes of the waiters choice- patatas bravas, pan con tomato and a portion of croquettas. Patatas Bravas So far, so tasty. Then came the interesting and more adventurous plates ordered by me and my friend. Cochinillo asado, bought together suckling pig which had been slow cooked, shredded and topped with a hunk of deliciously salty and crispy crackling. That alone was utterly moorish but even better with its accompanying tart apple sauce and lemon sorbet which cut through the rich meat perfectly. A portion of Pulpo a la gallega (octopus with paprika on a bed of potatoes) which we fell in love with at Tapas Revolution didn’t disappoint. If anyone has a recipe for this, please let me know as I think I could eat it every single week.Pork BellyOctopus Less successful were the floppy Canelones de berenjena, aubergine cannelloni with goats cheese that were cold and pretty bland. With room to spare, we went for a portion of the Tarta de Santiago, a frangipane style cake that was a little too dry but tasty nonetheless and Leche frita, gorgeous cubes of fried milk dusted with cinnamon. We washed down these down with a glass of delicious Pedro ximenez.

I enjoyed my night at Boqueria, and although I won’t rush back, I’ll definatley take advantage of it’s neighbourhood location and selection of sherry at some point.
Fried Milk

Boqueria on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

