London / Restaurant Reviews

Cheeseburgers at the Admiral Codrington, South Kensington, London

Until I moved to London, I thought that a burger was and could only ever be a good one or a bad one. How wrong I was. Recently, Londoners have led a burger movement backed up by passionate chefs like Yianni Papoutis (MeatLiquor) who is constantly striving to serve the perfect bun, bloggers who have written god knows how many posts about pop up burger restaurants, long standing institutions, wagons and recipes, and consumers who have travelled far and wide to spend hours queueing for that perfect bite.
My quest for burger pleasure recently led me to the Admiral Codrington in South Kensington (aka the Ad Cod), a small and pleasant pub that has an open roofed restaurant on one side and a comfy sofa filled boozer on the other.  I did what any other sensible person would do on a rainy June Saturday and spent lunchtime in the light half munching on an 8oz cheeseburger and the afternoon in the dark half, digesting on the couch with a bottle of Pinot Grigio.
This 8oz Cheeseburger with pickles (£15, served with handcut chips, taken em or leave em) was utterly incredible. The quality of the meat, sourced from O’Shea’s butchers in Knightsbridge came through in every bite as it crumbled and glistened and melted in the mouth. It had the perfect layering of crunchy iceberg, tart gherkins, charred caramelised grilled outer meat, pink rare juicy meat on the inside, and thick creamy american style cheese. I cut the glorious thing in half and devoured it with my hands and felt no shame. No shame! After cooking the Hawksmoor Burger recipe at home, I couldn’t eat for a day, but the fresh burger in the bouncy bun left me ready for more and eager to go back again.
I urge you to visit the Ad Cod (you can even book!) start with the burger, get hooked, then work your way round the menu making sure you take in the Chilli salt squid (£8.50) for starters. There’s a good wine list with a reasonable lowest bottle price of £15 and a really tasty Pinot Grigio for £20 a bottle. Keep an ear out for Fred Smiths ‘special burgers‘ that appear on the menu for a number of days and make sure you tell me about them so I can taste them too!
Admiral Codrington on Urbanspoon
Square Meal

10 thoughts on “Cheeseburgers at the Admiral Codrington, South Kensington, London

  1. Pingback: ADMIRAL CODRINGTON (Chelsea) | HungryinLondon

  2. Pingback: Admiral Codrington (Chelsea) | The Descrier

  3. “Hey there I am a big fan of your blog posts and your blog. One could say that I started my own blog because I saw so many cool stuff on your blog So I just wanted to leave my link here and tell you that if you want a link on my blog I would be more then happy to write a few words abotu you and link back to you Love your work!”

  4. “Considerably, the story is in reality the greatest on this noteworthy topic. I agree with your conclusions and will eagerly watch forward to your next updates. Saying good one will not just be sufficient, for the great clarity in your writing. I will immediately grab your rss feed to stay privy of any updates!”

Leave a Reply

